A Prostration to the Human Condition

I have “messed up” so many times, I bore myself

with apologizes and I look up at the sky and laugh,

for I am not sorry anymore. I will not apologize 

any longer.

I will be honest to my emotions,

and if I mess up, I know you will be there to reflect

ugliness my way, and this is why the religion of

the Human Condition is superior. 

I will tell my truth and connect with those 

who subscribe to authenticity.

I will heed my desires with reason,

unless I cannot, and I will forgive myself

for making mistakes, for being imperfect.

I will not laugh awkwardly and look around when

I trip or fart, I will carry on. 

I will speak my poetry out loud because

that is the language I know how to communicate.

I will offend and praise and embarrass and love

and live shamelessly. I will grow old(er) and keep

my eyes open and my stress down. 

I will try, to the best of my ability, and that 

includes laziness. I will sleep longer than I should

when I need to. And I will question love and life

and death and think too much and eat too much and 

drink too much and dance too much and hurt myself

and kiss too hard, or too much.

I pray to the boundaries and the edges that I have yet to find,

and I will declare them here! As poetry!

And hello!

Let’s hold hands.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

