Alone

I am all too deeply aware,

of how I am alone with people.

Crowds and parties make me even more so.

When I am at home,

my imagination keeps me company,

and that has always been my preferred zone.

Panic creeps in when someone tries to snatch me,

“what’s new?”

“what do you do?”

You cannot feel me out,

I will not let you,

unless you are crawling at my feet,

and banging on my door,

desperate to know

everything and more.

If you try, I will respect it.

But I am fine over here,

leave me to be as a voyeur.

Do not stop inviting me to things,

but I will be over here,

on this chair, or outside

in the cold, fresh air.

Leave me be,

you are not for me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

